A few days before Ubuntu 11.04 and my thoughts…

Well the release of Ubuntu 11.04 (Natty Narwhale) is only a few days away and I just wanted to share my thoughts on it…

I had ran 11.04 Alpha 2 for a while back in February and it was no good. It was unstable and crashing, I couldn’t really view any folders because Nautilus (the file manager) would continually crash.

I am now running Natty again (this time Beta 2) and I am very happy with it so far. The interface is clean, snappy and overall a joy to use. Unity is overall very nicely implemented in Natty 11.04. Of course there are improvements that can be made but it is doing well for a first release.

The only negative thing I could say at this point is that it would be nice to have Natty boot faster. Ubuntu 11.04 booting isn’t slow like it was in older versions such as Ubuntu 9.04 but it doesn’t boot nearly as fast as 10.04 was. And it boots a lot faster than Fedora, I was shocked with Fedora 14′ slow boot time (55 seconds on my test PC). But still a faster boot would be nice.

And if you don’t like Unity, Ubuntu 11.04 will still have the option of using the “Classic Ubuntu Desktop”. This option may get removed in Ubuntu 11.10.

Ubuntu 11.04 is definitely a winner in my books so far, when it comes out in few days I definitely recommend making the switch!

2 Responses to A few days before Ubuntu 11.04 and my thoughts…

  1. Simsoy says:

    I agree, haven’t tried it yet because my dad is a commie on my/”his” computerthat he “gave” me and never uses. Last see on Linux Mint 10. Overall, I like the way unity looks and this is defiantly something I’d recommend to any non-buntu user. It seams all the developers are angry… I guess they forgot about GNOME Classic.

  2. Matt K. says:

    11.04 and Unity I think are fucking awesome. SIMPLE, SLICK and just K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple stupid) Plus you may not be able to customize it much but that is the point. UNITY…

    But, the proposal to remove the option to run UBUNTU CLASSIC is a TERRIBLE mistake.

    Why?

    Because on my shitty Dell celeron machine I can not run Unity! I do not have the graphics card for it. And to think Ubuntu will not support 5 year old computers is a FALLACY.

    So I personally will be advocating for the KEEPING of the optional gnome option, because Linux runs great on slow machines too.

Leave a Reply

